NaNoWriMo Update: Pre-Race Stretching

I’m really trying to be hardcore about this.

NaNoWriMo begins in 6 short days, and I have been getting positively antsy with anticipation. The prep work that seemed insurmountable 5 days ago is now neatly tucked into a few forgiving notebooks. Of course, I still have about a month’s worth of work to do before November 1st; but I feel I have already conquered the most elusive NaNo demon: pace.

I have been creeping through character interviews, literal character sketching (I can’t draw) and scene lists. That last one has baited me rather cheerfully. Though they currently overlap and ramble incoherently, my scene lists are coming along willingly. I have been promising myself: stay in the unconscious…screw the deadline. When I feel myself begin to analyze and assemble structure, I stop. So far I have about 120 imperfect scenes, in no particular order and overlapping.

My challenge this week is to “finish” the scene lists, then write them all out on index cards. This way I can tarot my way through the deck and find some order I can call a starting point.

After that, all I have to do is write a novel in 30 days. Piece of cake.

About Anna Dawes

Writer. Blogger. Vegetarian. I have two dogs that make me a little insane. I'm a nursing student. I read a lot of feminist literature; I negate it by obsessing over fashion magazines. I listen mostly to lovely lady singers, read mostly female authors, and spend most of my days surrounded by beautiful women. I consider words to be a delicate medium that only the most willing artist can bring to light. In another life I was a classic thespian. I have a purple office.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, workshop, writers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NaNoWriMo Update: Pre-Race Stretching

  1. Laura Best says:

    Sounds as though you will be well prepared. Best of luck. I’ve never been so brave as to attempt NaNoWriMo, but I’m in awe of those who do.

  2. Pamela says:

    im totally impressed with the prep!!

  3. Abby says:

    I think you are going to do great 🙂

  4. Rose West says:

    Wow, you’re brave! NaNoWriMo sounds like quite the experience – I hope all goes well!

  5. Look forward to sharing the writing adventure with you! I am doing Nano, too–I am one of the rule benders as I am going ahead with my current WIP but using the month to finish it! So I am also following NanoWramo (national novel wrap up month) another blogger is doing, too. 🙂 If you’d like to buddy up on Nano, my name is TheEndingUnplanned. It’ll be fun to share it with another Houstonian

    • Anna Dawes says:

      Hi! Nice to meet you, too! I am starting to get super excited/anxious. The writing commences for me in 34 hours! I will add you as a writing buddy on NaNo. Will you be attending and of the NaNo events in Houston? I hope to see you there! 🙂

  6. demery says:

    Hi Anna – got your direct message on twitter! Thanks for inviting me to look at your blog. It’s lovely. I’m a blogger and a writer too. I really like your approach to putting a book together – got some great ideas here. Especially like the idea of writing out scenes and tarot carding them together 🙂 Best of luck with NaNo

    • Anna Dawes says:

      Hi Demery! I have been looking over your blog and LOVE it! And you live in Austin! I am down in Houston and am not a big fan of the heat/humidity and hate the traffic here! I have never been to Austin but I hear great things! I look forward to reading more when you get back from fishing. 😉 (I’m a subscriber now) and thanks for the well wishes with NaNo. :):)

  7. Sending good thoughts to Anna…write swiftly and well…..
    http://www.beyondbeautifulbabe.com

Leave a Reply

